RA for your Friday

The state fair is wrapping up, pumpkin spice is back in drinks, and I saw five bright red leaves on a tree. The Best Books of Fall lists are gently swirling and I am ready to rake them into a pile and dive in!

We’ve got fall picks from LitHub, Time, Kirkus, and Esquire, while The New York Public Library is taking us back to school with these readalikes for Netflix’s The Chair, and PopSugar is ushering in the spooky season with these 10 New Books About Witches. For me, though, fall means cozy, and there’s nothing cozier than amateur sleuths trying to crack cases – usually in a small town, and often with recipes. Yes! I’m talking about cozy mysteries, and if you’re looking for some series to add to your back pocket for RA suggestions (or to your collection), check out this list from Book Riot.

We’ve got September picks from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, NPR, Entertainment Weekly, and The Millions. For all you genre fans, we’ve got romance (and more) from SBTB, sci fi and fantasy from io9 and Bookmarks, and of course, crime reads from CrimeReads.

Now that I’ve led off with best books of fall and September, it’s time for an important reminder from the RA for All blog that the ‘best’ books to read are the ones you (and by extension, patrons) want to read:

“…your goal should be to have every single book in your collections checked out at the same time. Obviously this is impossible, but that is what you should be striving for. This means not only are you working to match people with books, but also that your collection is responsive to what they actually want to read.”

In awards news, the Anthony winners have been announced, and Book Riot gives a rundown of romance awards.

Finally, #FridayReads: My Ruth Galloway journey continues with The Woman in Blue, and have finally started a book I own (!) Dial A for Aunties, by Jesse Q. Sutanto. Happy reading!

Share Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Recent Posts