Youth Services Roundup 10/7

County: 

ROCKET GIVEAWAY!

Summer is over, and NCLS is decommissioning the rocket photo booths we circulated to promote A Universe of Stories. If your library would like to own a stand-up rocket with stick props, please e-mail me with the subject line "Blastoff!" First come, first serve!

WRITING BOOKTALKS

From Teen Services Underground: "There are as many ways to give a good booktalk as there are ways to write a good book! The most important thing is to get readers excited about the book... Do you actually have to read a book to write a successful booktalk? Nope! And if you’re giving a lot of booktalks, you might not have time to..."

GO BIG WITH ART

From the ALSC blog: " It’s no secret that doing process-based art activities with young children has many benefits bedsides just being really, really fun. It not only helps them develop fine motor skills by holding the different art supplies, but because we are moving around and being active, it helps with those gross motor skills too..."

RA FOR GRAPHIC NOVELS

From Teen Librarian Toolbox: "Every tween and teen I know is reading graphic novels... Particularly, every middle grade reader I know is reading Raina Telgemeier and the Real Friends series by Shannon Hale. So last week I went on Twitter and asked for Reader’s Advisory help. I specifically asked for recommendations of middle grade graphic novels that feature a contemporary setting that focuses on friendship or family for fans of Telgemeier and Hale. This is what was recommended to me..."

Youth Services: