RA for your Friday 2/24/17

County: 

Becky Spratford from the RA for All blog shares the new genre guide from NoveList, which is an amazing resource to help you serve leisure readers. In fact, I'm sending everyone a hard copy of the 28-page guide in the delivery, so that you can keep it handy at the service desk of your choice. You're welcome. 

In awards news, the nominees for the Nebula Awards have been announced, and the NYPL has announced the finalists for the Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism.

Kirkus has some readalikes for Big Little Lies, which is getting a bump thanks to the new HBO adaptation, and Lit Hub has compiled a literary list of Oscar nominees in advance of the awards on Sunday night.

Finally, #FridayReads: On deck for this weekend is Universal Harvester, by John Darnielle. I'm not typically a reader of horror or even suspense, but it's always good to push your reading boundaries. And if it gets too scary, I can always return to my comfy standbys of American history or food writing (currently both, with A Square Meal). Happy reading, all! -Angela

Consulting: